Warning: Missing argument 1 for __(), called in /home/ergodos5/public_html/ on line 18 and defined in /home/ergodos5/public_html/ on line 201

I’m particularly interested in music in which a sonic object is viewed from many angles, or where the light in which we view it changes subtly over time. In Sonate, the sonic object is the chord progression that underpins the first two bars of the opening ‘Adagio’ from the G minor sonata in Bach’s set of six sonatas and partitas for solo violin. As is so often the case with the music of J.S. Bach, I am totally beguiled by the elegance of the voice leading in this progression. In Sonate, I place this progression in the context of the harmonic series on G, like dropping a stone into lake and watching the ripples, to steal an image from the English composer Howard Skempton.

Sonate was composed in London and York, England, during the summer of 2009.

Instrumentation: Baroque violin, double bass.
Duration: circa 7 minutes.
Date of composition: 2009.
Commissioned by Ergodos for Maya Homburger and Barry Guy
First Performance: Maya Homburger (Baroque violin) and Barry Guy (double bass), St Audoen’s Church, Dublin on 23 September 2009.
Score: Please email to obtain the latest score.