Am Obersee

Warning: Missing argument 1 for __(), called in /home/ergodos5/public_html/ on line 18 and defined in /home/ergodos5/public_html/ on line 201

This work is about finding a space. And then just being there, just sitting still.

The title refers to a lake in north-east Berlin. More specifically it refers to a house that overlooks that lake, designed by Mies van der Rohe in 1932.

This work is dedicated to my friend Jonathan Sage. And it was written with his particular basset clarinet sound on my ear.

The ghost of Alan Hacker, Jonathan’s teacher, is here too — a memory of Alan performing the 2nd movement of Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto as if his life’s meaning was contained within the music.

Am Obersee was commissioned by Ergodos for the Ergodos Musicians ‘Concertos Project’, 2013.

Subtitle: Concerto for basset clarinet and small orchestra
Instrumentation: solo basset clarinet and small orchestra ( / / strings – 3 or 4 . 3 or 4 . 2 . 2 . 1)
Duration: circa 18′
Date of composition: 2013
Commissioned by Ergodos for the Ergodos Concertos Project.
First Performance: Jonathan Sage, basset clarinet/director, Ergodos Musicians (Cliodhna Ryan, leader), Christchurch Cathedral, Dublin 8, Ireland, 7 June, 2013.
Score: Please email to obtain the latest score.