Prologue from ‘Recueillement’

Warning: Missing argument 1 for __(), called in /home/ergodos5/public_html/ on line 18 and defined in /home/ergodos5/public_html/ on line 201
The prologue from Garrett Sholdice’s chamber opera ‘Recueillement’, based on poetry by Charles Baudelaire, was originally composed as a stand-alone piece for voice and sine tones. It may be performed in the opera version for solo female voice, or the original version for female voice and sine tones.


Sois sage, ô ma Douleur, et tiens-toi plus tranquille.
Tu réclamais le Soir; il descend; le voici:
Une atmosphère obscure enveloppe la ville,
Aux uns portant la paix, aux autres le souci.


(from ‘The Flowers of Evil’ by Charles Baudelaire, 1857)


Be good, my Sorrow, hush now, settle down.
You sighed for dusk, and now it comes: look there!
A denser atmosphere obscures the town,
To some restoring peace, to others concern.


Instrumentation: female voice and sine tones or solo female voice
Duration: version with sine tones — circa 4′, version for solo voice — circa 3′
Date of composition: 2011-2012
Commissioned by Ergodos for the production Immersia.
First Performance: Michelle O’Rourke, voice; Immersia (Ergodos Spring 2011 Edition), April 2011, LEAP, Berlin
Score: Please email to obtain the latest score.